The Open Championship Qualifying Trail
The Fife Open Championship Qualifying Trail takes the visitor to four of Fife’s premier courses that have all been final qualifying courses for the Open Championship at St Andrews and which showcase the variety available in the Home of Golf.
Ladybank Golf Club enjoys a reputation as one of Scotland’s finest inland layouts. It was founded in 1879 with six holes laid out by Old Tom Morris, later extended to nine holes in 1910. It only became an eighteen-hole layout as late as 1961.
It is a short journey to the Scotscraig Golf Club on the southern shore of the Firth of Tay midway between St Andrews and Dundee. The present layout is largely the work of master architect James Braid, who redesigned the course in 1923. Part of its charm is that it is a bit hidden away and a little difficult to find but the search is well rewarded.
The Lundin Golf Club as we have seen earlier is another example of some of the best of James Braid’s work. It is the other half of a one-time ‘Siamese twin’ golf course arrangement from the 19th century with next door neighbour, Leven. Until the mid 1850s the towns of Leven and Lundin Links shared a narrow strip of linksland along the north edge of the Firth of Forth. But with the increase in popularity of the game the two towns agreed to take half of the course each and then add a further nine holes on the north side of the railway line to create two 18-hole layouts.
Leven Links today is a public links offering an impressive challenge and one of the finest finishing holes in Scottish golf.